top of page

mar. 08 oct.

|

Bibliothèque publique du comté de Charleston - Principale

Lecture de poésie au Write On! Fête littéraire

Lectures de Libby Bernardin, Lisa M. Hase-Jackson et Len Lawson

L'inscription est fermée
Voir les autres événements
Lecture de poésie au Write On! Fête littéraire
Lecture de poésie au Write On! Fête littéraire

Heure et lieu

08 oct. 2019, 17:30

Bibliothèque publique du comté de Charleston - Principale, 68, rue Calhoun, Charleston, SC 29401, États-Unis

À propos de l'événement

Trois membres de la Poetry Society of South Carolina qui ont récemment publié des livres - Libby Bernardin, Lisa-Hase Jackson et Len Lawson participeront à une lecture de groupe dans le cadre de Write On! Festival d'alphabétisation à l'auditorium de la bibliothèque principale.

Libby Bernardin: La première collection complète de Libby Bernardin est Stones Ripe for Sowing (Presse 53, 2018). Elle a deux recueils, The Book of Myth (SC Poetry Initiative, 2009) et Layers of Song (Finishing Line Press, 2011). Des poèmes ont paru dans de nombreuses revues et son poème "Transmigration", lauréat du NC Poetry of Witness Award, a été nominé pour un prix Pushcart 2017. Elle vit à Georgetown et est membre à vie du conseil des gouverneurs de la South Carolina Academy of Authors.

Lisa M. Hase Jackson: Le premier recueil de poésie de Lisa M. Hase-Jackson, Flint and Fire, a été sélectionné par Jericho Brown pour la série Hilary Tham Capital Collection 2019, une empreinte de The Word Works. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en poésie du Converse College de Spartanburg, en Caroline du Sud, et d'une maîtrise en anglais de la Kansas State University. Rédactrice à plein temps, Lisa est rédactrice en chef du South 85 Journal et rédactrice fondatrice de Zingara Poetry Review. Lisa vit à Charleston, en Caroline du Sud.  

Len Lawson: Len Lawson est l'auteur de Chime (Get Fresh Books, 2019), du chapbook Before the Night Wakes You (Finishing Line Press, 2017) et coéditeur de Hand in Hand: Poets Respond to Race (Muddy Ford Press, 2017 ). Il a remporté le prix de l'artiste littéraire de l'année 2016 du magazine Jasper.  Il a reçu des bourses de Callaloo, Vermont Studio Center, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, la première bourse de poésie Susan Laughter Meyers 2018 du Weymouth Center for the Arts et la bourse Alice Conger Patterson 2019 du Fondation Emrys. Sa poésie apparaît ou est à paraître dans Callaloo Journal, African American Review, Verse Daily, Mississippi Review et ailleurs. Len est également titulaire d'un doctorat. étudiant en littérature anglaise et critique à Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Il a enseigné l'anglais dans l'enseignement supérieur de Caroline du Sud pendant dix ans.

Les livres seront disponibles à l'achat après la lecture.

Partager cet événement

Event Info: Events
bottom of page

Tue, Oct 08 | Charleston County Public Library - Main

Poetry Reading at the Write On! Literary Festival

Readings by Libby Bernardin, Lisa M. Hase-Jackson, and Len Lawson
Registration is Closed
Poetry Reading at the Write On! Literary Festival

Time & Location

Oct 08, 2019, 5:30 PM
Charleston County Public Library - Main, 68 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

About the Event

Three members of the Poetry Society of South Carolina who have recently published books--Libby Bernardin, Lisa-Hase Jackson, and Len Lawson will participate in a group reading as part of the Write On! Literacy Festival at the Main Library Auditorium.

Libby Bernardin: Libby Bernardin's first full collection is Stones Ripe for Sowing (Press 53, 2018). She has two chapbooks, The Book of Myth (SC Poetry Initiative, 2009) and Layers of Song (Finishing Line Press, 2011). Poems have appeared in numerous journals and her poem “Transmigration” winner of the NC Poetry of Witness Award was nominated for a 2017 Pushcart Prize. She lives in Georgetown and is a Life Member of the Board of Governors of the South Carolina Academy of Authors.

Lisa M. Hase Jackson: Lisa M. Hase-Jackson’s debut collection of poetry, Flint and Fire, was selected by Jericho Brown for the 2019 Hilary Tham Capital Collection Series, an imprint of The Word Works. She holds an MFA in poetry from Converse College in Spartanburg, South Carolina, and a MA in English from Kansas State University. A full-time writer, Lisa is Editor in Chief of South 85 Journal and founding editor of Zingara Poetry Review. Lisa lives in Charleston, South Carolina.  

Len Lawson: Len Lawson is the author of Chime (Get Fresh Books, 2019), the chapbook Before the Night Wakes You (Finishing Line Press, 2017), and co-editor of Hand in Hand: Poets Respond to Race (Muddy Ford Press, 2017). He won the 2016 Jasper Magazine Literary Artist of the Year Award.  He has received fellowships from Callaloo, Vermont Studio Center, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, the inaugural 2018 Susan Laughter Meyers Poetry Fellowship from Weymouth Center for the Arts, and the 2019 Alice Conger Patterson Scholarship from the Emrys Foundation. His poetry appears or is forthcoming in Callaloo Journal, African American Review, Verse Daily, Mississippi Review, and elsewhere. Len is also a Ph.D. student in English Literature and Criticism at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. He has taught English in South Carolina higher education for ten years.

Books will be available for purchase after the reading.

Share This Event